Who’s Watching the Mind?

No doubt about it… this is an old classic question of who is watching the mind, if all things are supposedly not self and not soul.

Recalling the repetitive hammering practice this mind was put through in 2007…
I remembered the time I met my new master Ajahn Pramote Pamotecho, at Suan Santi-Dhamma, Chonburi, Thailand.

“Show me how you meditate.” He asked…

I crossed my legs and began to aim my focus at the belly.

“Wrong!” He said. “Who is focusing? And why did you have to change your posture?”

“Sir, I use this focus to watch my mi…”

“Wrong! Who is watching the mind?” He asked… “And who makes it do it?”

“I do not know sir…”

“Why don’t you train your mind to work and see all by itself first? So you don’t have to be there.”

4 Responses to “Who’s Watching the Mind?”

  1. Hello Phra Mick,

    Nice experience…

    Your wordpress is looking good =D

  2. “Why don’t you train your mind to work and see all by itself first? So you don’t have to be there.”

    Who is there?

  3. A mind that has been trained to check upon itself. Not a self nor a soul.

  4. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a
    developer to create your theme? Excellent work!

Leave a Reply

