Who is Suffering?

 

 

               “Now this, monks, is the noble truth of suffering:

               Birth is suffering, aging is suffering, death is suffering,

               Sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, and despair are suffering,

               Association with things disliked is suffering, separation from things liked is suffering,

               not getting what one wants is suffering.”

 

 

When I first read Dhammacakka-pavatana Sutta (The first sermon the Buddha delivered to his initial group of disciples), I envisioned the cause of suffering to be “I, me and mine”, so I set my foundational practice to remove them.

 

If “I, me and mine” were made by the repeated thoughts or ideas… then using self-disassembling thoughts repeatedly would reverse the condition.  Right?  For example: “I’m no one, nothing, a dead man walking”.  I was relaxed and happy… like a death defying born again Buddhist with a constant smile on his face. 

The change I went through was so contrasting, when police officers issued me a warning for going through a stop sign one night in Bundanoon, they both said how pleasant I was to speak with, even though I had forgotten to carry my driver’s license as well.  “Normally we’d have to charge you $75 for that too sir, but we’ll let you off again with a warning”. 

Unfortunately, all of that changed in a hurry and the warnings quickly turned into a real ticket when I gave them my driver’s license number.  The pre-ordination records they saw on their COPS Computer were so shocking that they could not just simply let me go.  The temple later paid the fine, not me.  I didn’t carry any money.  I had felt like asking “Shouldn’t you judge people for who they are… rather than who they were?” but I decided to keep my mouth shut and smiled.

 

I understood suffering like many people would… Buddhism aimed people to be happy, to stop harmful speeches and actions.  And let Universe work it’s balance.  Sadly, this kind of happiness does not last.  Just 2 years… in fact it turned into more suffering when I realized I was forcing myself against armies of habits which had been deeply deployed and implemented for an eternal length of time.  This was Buddha’s path… not his teachings. 

Sure, one can annihilate some habits, like washing a garlic jar and let it dry out in the sun hoping to get the smell out, but instead the smell refuses to leave and in turns, annihilates the hope.  In other words… it would take Gazillion life times to annihilate all habits and reach Buddhahood.  Ever wonder why people don’t become Buddhas every fortnight?

 

 

So time rolled by… and then one day, just like that.
I decided to read the Sutta juuuust that little bit further,

 

 

                “Now this, monks, is the noble truth of suffering:

               Birth is suffering, aging is suffering, death is suffering,

               Sorrow, lamentation, pain, distress, and despair are suffering,

               Association with things disliked is suffering, separation from things liked is suffering,

               not getting what one wants is suffering.

               =>  In short, the five aggregates are suffering.”

 

 

GODDAMN IT!!!!!

ARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!

How did I miss that bloody line?! 

I’m such a complete moron!

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Who is Suffering?”

  1. Suffer is always in font of you and you never be able to run away.
    I am suffering and you are suffering.
    But we can appreciate this suffering.

  2. Correct… suffering is to be known, not stopped.

    When the mind knows what a sad sorry lump this body is, it lets go.

    When the mind knows what a sad sorry, jumpy, heavy and burning lump this mind is, it lets go.

    The point is to know… and let the mind work its own wisdom.

Leave a Reply

